President of the Nigerian Football Federation, Amaju Pinnick says the VAR decision to cancel a penalty initially awarded Nigeria against Ghana in the 2022 World Cup qualifier was the correct call.
Nigeria thought they had won a penalty in the 76th minute when the referee pointed to the spot after the ball had struck the hand of Iddrisu Baba.
“I think the referee did well. It was a correct call. The Nigerian player pushed Baba Iddrisu and that made him touched the ball,” Pinnick stated on Akoma FM.
“We have no problem with officiating. However, will win convincingly at home. Our team is better but we were unfortunate today. Football is football.”
The Black Stars of Ghana will travel to Nigeria for the return leg after a goalless draw game at the Baba Yara Sports Stadium last night.
The Black Stars will be hoping to book one of the available slots for Africa and make it to their fourth FIFA World Cup tournament which will be hosted in Qatar later this year.